Lions Charity Run - Hamburg 2013

Actual News

We did it!

It was a fantastic trip with unforgettable experiences.

Now we can assure: There will be a new version. As promised to PIP Wayne A. Madden in Hamburg next year we will realize the 2nd Lions Charity Run...

...from Oak Brook towards Toronto off to the LCIC 2014!

Update:

Due to the particular importance of the year 2014, the motto for this year's race and thus the running route was changed:

FREEDOM CHARITY RUN 2014

GDAŃSK (DANZIG) - BERLIN

24.09. - 03.10.2014

25 years fall of the Berlin wall - Lions from Poland and Germany run together with Rotarians from the City of Solidarność to Berlin and thus commemorate the overcoming of the division of Europe.

Further information: www.freedom-charity-run.com


Donations

On 17th of December the donations were handed over to kindergartens and institutions that were damaged by the flood in germany in summer 2013.

Click here for further information...


To mark the occasion of the Lions Clubs International Congress in Hamburg 2013, the German Districts 111-ON and N and the Polish District D121 decided to hold the „Lions Charity Run“ – a joint run from Poland to Germany. Mrs Cornelia Pieper, state minister in the Foreign Office and Cooordinator of German-Polish social and cross-border cooperation, has kindly taken on the patronage of this international run.

We are inviting all to participate in this historic run, either personally as a runner or by accompanying a team as a bike rider or by supporting the event as a sponsor or simply by cheering on the runners as they pass by.  We as organisers are hoping for strong participation, especially in the cities that lie along the route and at the finish line in Hamburg.  The  runners would also be very happy to meet members and friends of the local Lions clubs in each of the planned overnight stay locations.


We run – We serve

In light of the current flood catastrophe, we have decided to donate most of the funds raised in this charity run to the flood victims. We have decided on the following distribution: 100% of all donations from Germany will go towards the flood-affected families, children, youth and supporting organisations. One part of the donations from Poland will go towards an eye clinic in Stettin and also be spent to support flood victims. The remaining funds raised in Poland will be spent on a project chosen at the Polish Special Convention from a range of possible benevolent organisations/activities.

We would like to thank all supporters already on board! A summary of the donations and sponsorships committed so far can be seen here.

Team Poland/Germany

Route Team Poland/Germany

The Polish team’s run begins in Szczecin (Stettin) on 28 June at 10:00am. Participants reach Hamburg on Friday, 5 July, in time to take part in the international parade on Saturday, 6 July 2013.  Participants will be Dr. Mariusz Szeib and PDG Daniel Wcislo of the LC Poznan Rotunda from the Polish side and LF Ludwig Schlereth of the LC Halle-Saalkreis from the German side. The approximately 400km long route passes through Pasewalk, Strasburg (Uckermark), Neubrandenburg, Waren (Müritz), Parchim, Schwerin, Ratzeburg und Lübeck. Every team member will complete at least half of the total distance.

Tour Diary

Our experiences during the tour we put together in our tour diary together with some chosen pictures.

Lions Charity Run - Hamburg 2013

Aktuelle News

Wir haben es geschafft!

Es war eine herrliche Tour mit unvergesslichen Erlebnissen.

Schon jetzt können wir versichern: Es gibt eine Wiederholung! Wie wir PIP Wayne A. Madden in Hamburg versprochen haben, nächstes Jahr gibt es den 2. Lions Charity Run...

...von Oak Brook nach Toronto zur LCIC 2014!

Update:

Aus aktuellem Anlass wurde das Motto für den diesjährigen Lauf und damit die Laufroute geändert:

FREEDOM CHARITY RUN 2014

GDAŃSK (DANZIG) - BERLIN

24.09. - 03.10.2014

25 Jahre Mauerfall - Lions aus Polen und Deutschland laufen zusammen mit Rotariern von der Stadt der Solidarność nach Berlin und würdigen damit die Überwindung der Teilung Europas.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.freedom-charity-run.com


Spendenübergabe

Am 17.12.2013 wurden die erlaufenen Spendengelder in Halle (Saale) an vom Hochwasser betroffene Einrichtungen übergeben.

Hier mehr erfahren...


Anlässlich der Lions Clubs International Convention in Hamburg 2013 haben sich die deutschen Distrikte 111-ON und N sowie der polnische Distrikt D121 entschieden, den „Lions Charity Run“ zu veranstalten – einen gemeinsamen Lauf von Polen nach Deutschland. Für diesen internationalen Lauf hat Frau Cornelia Pieper, Staatsministerin im Auswärtigen Amt und Koordinatorin für die deutsch-polnische zwischengesellschaftliche und grenznahe Zusammenarbeit, dankenswerterweise die Schirmherrschaft übernommen.

Wir laden ein, bei diesem historischen Lauf persönlich als Läufer teilzunehmen, ein Team per Fahrrad zu begleiten, die Activity als Sponsor zu unterstützen oder die Läufer an der Strecke anzufeuern. Als Organisatoren hoffen wir auf große Teilnahme, besonders in den Städten, durch die die jeweilige Route führt und beim Zieleinlauf in Hamburg. In den Orten für die geplanten Übernachtungen würden sich alle Läufer auch über Treffen mit den Mitgliedern und Freunden der lokalen Lions Clubs freuen.


We run – We serve

Wegen der aktuellen Hochwasser-Situation haben wir uns entschlossen, den Erlös unseres Benefizlaufs im Wesentlichen für die Opfer des Hochwassers zu spenden. Im Einzelnen ist folgendes vorgesehen: Die Spenden aus Deutschland werden zu 100% an vom Hochwasser betroffene und in Not geratene Familien, Kinder und Jugendliche bzw. entsprechende Einrichtungen weitergereicht. Spenden aus Polen werden zu einem Teil für eine Augen-Kinderklinik in Stettin verwendet, ebenfalls zu einem Teil für Hochwasser-Opfer gespendet. Die Zuwendung des Restbetrages bez. polnischer Spenden soll an ein Projekt gehen, welches im September auf der polnischen Special Convention aus verschiedenen gemeinnützigen Einrichtungen/Activities ausgewählt wird.

Wir danken allen bisherigen Unterstützern! Eine Übersicht zu den bereits eingegangenen Spenden- und Sponsoringzusagen können Sie hier einsehen.

Team Polen/Deutschland

Route Team Polen/Deutschland

Der Lauf des Teams aus Polen beginnt in Szczecin (Stettin) am 28. Juni um 10:00 Uhr. Die Teilnehmer erreichen Hamburg am Freitag, 5. Juli, um dann rechtzeitig an der internationalen Parade am Samstag, 6. Juli 2013,  teilnehmen zu können. Von polnischer Seite werden PDG Dr. Mariusz Szeib und PDG Daniel Wcislo vom LC Poznań Rotunda und von deutscher Seite LF Ludwig Schlereth vom LC Halle-Saalkreis teilnehmen. Die Route von etwa 400 km wird u. a. durch Pasewalk, Strasburg (Uckermark), Neubrandenburg, Waren (Müritz), Parchim, Schwerin, Ratzeburg und Lübeck führen. Jeder Teilnehmer wird mindestens die Hälfte der Distanz zurücklegen.

Tour-Tagebuch

Unsere Erlebnisse auf der Tour und einige ausgewählte Bilder haben wir in unserem Tour-Tagebuch zusammengestellt.